AI homework help that does not do the homework
Students already have AI homework help. The question is no longer whether to allow it, but what shape of help you are willing to defend at a parent meeting.
IXL prints its family and classroom prices but not its school price. Ten district quotes and two co-op price sheets do.
Try it before you price it
Price per student is half of the comparison. The other half is what the teacher gets back. Use the sample work or your own practice text and read the evidence card before you read the numbers.
Mastery Check
of 3 runs left
Subject
Grade band
Nothing here is stored
Use the sample or your own practice text. Never paste a real student's name.
Tutor mode
Session evidence card
Press Run mastery check to read this work and produce the evidence card: the named misconception, the next tutoring move, per-skill mastery and a five-minute reteach.
Diagnosis
Skill mastery read
Teacher note
Reteach in 5 minutes
This is what a teacher opens after every session. That was your third run. Nothing you typed was stored.
Short answer: IXL costs a family $79 a year for one subject and $159 for all four core subjects. A teacher's classroom license starts at $349 a year for 25 students. Schools and districts pay by quote, and recent public quotes put that at about $9.50 to $12 per student for one subject, $15 to $19 for math and language arts, and $23 to $24.50 for all four subjects.
IXL publishes its family and classroom prices but not its school price. The school number lives in board agendas, signed quotes and co-op price sheets, and that is where every figure below comes from. We read 13 of those documents from nine districts in eight states, checked IXL's own pricing pages on October 8, 2026, and linked each source. Coeducate is not affiliated with IXL. We sell a different kind of math product, and a section near the end says plainly where IXL is the better buy.
These are the prices IXL shows to a US visitor today. Family plans are billed per child, and each extra child adds $40 a year.
| Plan | Monthly | Yearly |
|---|---|---|
| Family, one subject (math or language arts) | $9.95 | $79 |
| Family, combo (math and language arts) | $15.95 | $129 |
| Family, core (math, language arts, science, social studies) | $19.95 | $159 |
| Spanish add-on | $5 | $40 |
| Classroom license, one subject, 25 students | Annual only | From $349 |
| School or district site license | Quote only | |
The classroom license page lets a teacher add up to five subjects and up to 100 student accounts, paid by card, purchase order or check. Above 100 students it asks you to request a quote. The $349 starting price works out to about $14 per student for a full class of 25, which is already more than most districts pay per student for the same subject.
IXL prices a site license per student per year, by two things: how many subjects you buy and how many students are on the license. Two co-op price sheets show the grid. The first was IXL's bid to Pinellas County Schools in Florida, valid through 2024. The second was the Allied States cooperative table attached to a Wichita Falls ISD quote in Texas for 2023-24.
| Students on the license | 1 subject | 2 subjects | 3 subjects | 4 subjects |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pinellas sheet, 150 or more | $11.00 | $16.50 | $20.00 | $22.00 |
| Pinellas sheet, 2,500 or more | $9.50 | $15.00 | $18.00 | $20.00 |
| Allied States 2023, 250 to 999 | $11.50 | $17.00 | $21.00 | $23.00 |
| Allied States 2023, 10,000 or more | $9.50 | $15.00 | $19.00 | $21.00 |
Source documents: the Pinellas County price sheet and the Wichita Falls ISD board packet for August 2023. The newer sheet is about $1 higher per student in each cell, and the 2024 to 2026 quotes below sit higher still.
Every row is a signed quote, a contract or a board item we opened and read. Where the document prints only a total, we divided it ourselves and say so.
| Date and district | What was bought | Total | Per student |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 2026, Wichita Falls ISD, TX | 2026-27 site license, all four subjects, 9,200 students, plus $2,495 PD | $227,895 | $24.50, no discount |
| May 2025, Moore Public Schools, OK | 2025-26 site license, grades 3 to 8, math and ELA, 10,800 students, plus $2,495 PD | $204,995 | $18.75 |
| May 2025, Placentia-Yorba Linda USD, CA | 1,350 math and ELA licenses, 650 single-subject licenses, two trainings | Up to $36,420 | About $18.21 (our math) |
| Apr 2025, Wichita Falls ISD, TX | 2025-26 site license, four subjects, 10,000 students, plus PD | $232,495 | $24.00 list, $23.00 net |
| Jul 2024, Wichita Falls ISD, TX | 2024-25 site license, four subjects, 10,000 students, plus PD | $207,495 | $24.00 list, $20.50 net |
| Apr 2024, Special School District of St. Louis County, MO | ELA and math, 2,150 student and 435 teacher licenses | Up to $41,401 | About $19.26 (our math) |
| Jul 2024, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools, NC | Three-year secondary screening and practice, replacing Star | $266,546 over 3 years | Not stated |
| Jul 2023, Conejo Valley USD, CA | K to 5 math and ELA (6,000), 6 to 8 math and ELA (2,275), 6 to 12 math (4,000) | $162,125 | $15.00 for two subjects, $9.50 for one |
| Jun 2023, Boulder Valley SD, CO | Site license, mostly math, 11,400 students | $108,581 | $12.00 list, about $9.52 net |
| Jul 2021, Johnson City Schools, TN | Five-year contract, district-wide, up to four subjects plus Spanish | $528,947 over 5 years | Not stated |
Links to the documents: Moore quote, Boulder Valley quote, Conejo Valley contract and the Wichita Falls 2026-27 quote. Read the quote, not the cover memo: the Wichita Falls memos say 2024-25 cost $24.95 per student, while the signed quote shows $20.50 net.
Wichita Falls ISD is the clearest case because four years of its IXL paperwork are public. The list price for all four subjects barely moved. The discount did.
| School year | Volume discount on the quote | Net per student |
|---|---|---|
| 2023-24 | Campus prices, district rate | $20.93 |
| 2024-25 | $35,000 | $20.50 |
| 2025-26 | $10,000 | $23.00 |
| 2026-27 | None | $24.50 |
That is a 20 percent increase in two renewals with no change in what the district bought. If your current quote carries a discount line, budget the renewal at list price and treat any discount you win back as savings.
Using the 2023 to 2026 figures above, here is what a typical buyer should expect to see on a quote before negotiation. Professional development is extra, usually $2,495 for a district package.
| Buyer | Math only | Math and ELA | All four subjects |
|---|---|---|---|
| One class of 25, classroom license | From $349 | Priced on the page as you add subjects | Priced on the page |
| 500-student elementary school | About $5,000 to $5,750 | About $7,750 to $8,500 | About $10,500 to $12,250 |
| 10,000-student district | About $95,000 to $120,000 | About $150,000 to $190,000 | About $205,000 to $245,000 |
A real check on the school row: in the 2023 Wichita Falls campus quotes, a 525-student school buying all four subjects was priced at $12,075, exactly $23 per student.
IXL sells direct. Its sole-source letter says there are no authorized resellers, so a co-op contract (TIPS 230105, TexBuy, Allied States) changes the paperwork, not the price list. The TIPS contract commits IXL to a 0 percent minimum discount off catalog.
Multi-year terms are where the real discount is. The Pinellas sheet takes another 10 percent off a three-year commitment, and Johnson City's 2021 memo cites a 22 percent discount for a five-year partnership. The catch is the payment shape. Pinellas pays 50, 25 and 25 percent. Johnson City paid $185,131 in year one and $52,896 in year five. Chapel Hill-Carrboro pays $115,618, then $75,464 twice. If enrollment drops or the district switches products in year two, most of the money is already spent.
If you want thousands of standards-aligned practice skills in four subjects, a built-in diagnostic and a report on every student's time on task, IXL is a strong, well-priced product, and Evidence for ESSA rates IXL Math strong for grades 3 to 5. Nothing we sell replaces that.
What IXL reports is which skill a student missed and their SmartScore. It does not say why the answer was wrong. Coeducate is an AI tutor that asks the student to explain the step, coaches with a question instead of the answer, and gives the teacher a card that names the misconception. Schools use it next to IXL for the students the practice is not moving, usually in a Tier 2 math intervention group. The IXL alternative for schools page compares the two row by row, including where IXL wins.
Our prices are on the pricing page: $89 a month for one teacher with up to 60 students, or $3,480 a year for a school of up to 600 students, about $5.80 per student. For the other programs in the same budget, see our articles on i-Ready cost per student, Zearn cost and ALEKS cost.
For schools, about $9.50 to $12 per student a year for one subject, $15 to $19 for math and language arts, and $23 to $24.50 for all four core subjects, based on district quotes from 2023 to 2026. Larger enrollments and multi-year terms get the lower end. Families pay $79 to $159 a year per child.
IXL's classroom license starts at $349 a year for one subject and 25 students, about $14 per student. A teacher can add subjects and go up to 100 student accounts on the same license, at a higher price shown on IXL's checkout page. Above 100 students, IXL quotes a site license instead.
A district of about 10,000 students paid $204,995 for math and ELA in grades 3 to 8 (Moore, Oklahoma, 2025-26) and $227,895 for all four subjects across all grades (Wichita Falls, Texas, 2026-27), both including a $2,495 training package. Smaller districts pay a higher rate per student.
Yes, by volume and by term. Quotes show volume discount lines of $10,000 to $35,000, and multi-year terms take 10 to 22 percent off. The discounts are not guaranteed at renewal: one Texas district's discount went from $35,000 to zero in two years.
In every quote we read, yes. The site license includes the IXL Diagnostic, the Assessment Suite and School Analytics with no separate line. Spanish and professional development are the common extras.
Where this comes from
Socratic hints instead of answers, evidence the teacher can act on, and student work that is never used to train models. Run the Mastery Check on the homepage and read the output before you decide whether any of this is worth your time.
Students already have AI homework help. The question is no longer whether to allow it, but what shape of help you are willing to defend at a parent meeting.
What Khan Academy publishes, what older quotes said, and what a 600-student school actually pays across Khanmigo, MagicSchool and Coeducate.
MagicSchool publishes two prices and quotes the third. What Free, Plus and Enterprise actually cost, and the number a district quote has to beat.
Run the Mastery Check on the sample work, or paste your own practice text. Nothing you type is stored.
Student work is never used to train models. No card required to try the demo.
Mastery evidence after every session.
Get started
One field. We email you a 6-digit code, and entering it opens your account and your first evidence card from a real piece of student work.
No card required. Student work is never used to train models. See our privacy policy.