Skip to content
coeducate
Sign in
Pricing 1 October 2026 9 min read

Diffit pricing, Diffit cost and what a Diffit for Schools license costs

Diffit prints a teacher price and hides the school price behind a calculator. Six district documents show what schools paid, from $1,360 for one school to $45,000 for a district.

Try it before you price it

Run a student answer through the tutor that writes the mastery record

Price per student is half of the comparison. The other half is what the teacher gets back. Use the sample work or your own practice text and read the evidence card before you read the numbers.

See Coeducate pricing

Mastery Check

of 3 runs left

Subject

Grade band

Nothing here is stored

Use the sample or your own practice text. Never paste a real student's name.

Tutor mode

Session evidence card

This is what a teacher opens after every session. That was your third run. Nothing you typed was stored.

Short answer: Diffit costs $14.99 a month or $149.99 a year for one teacher, paid by card from the teacher's own account. A school or district license is a flat annual price set by student enrollment and quoted on request, with no price list published. Public district documents show what schools actually paid, from $1,360 for one school in California to $45,000 for every teacher in Rockford, Illinois. Diffit itself says a school license costs about the same as buying for more than a handful of teachers.

Diffit is one of the easier tools to buy at the teacher level and one of the harder ones to budget at the school level, because the school price only appears after you type in your enrollment. This page puts the published prices next to six real payments from board packets and check registers, works out where a school license beats individual subscriptions, and lists what to ask before you sign. Every Diffit fact below was read on Diffit's own pages or in the linked district document in October 2026. Coeducate is not affiliated with Diffit. We sell a different kind of product, and the last sections say where the two meet.

Diffit pricing plans at a glance

Plan Price How you pay Who it covers
Basic No charge None One teacher, with limits, and only the last 90 days of resources
Individual teacher, monthly $14.99 a month Credit card from the teacher's account One teacher, all premium features
Individual teacher, annual $149.99 a year (16 percent below monthly) Credit card from the teacher's account One teacher, all premium features
Diffit for Schools Flat annual rate by enrollment, quoted Purchase order, check or card Every staff member in the school
District license Quoted through a district quote form Purchase order, check or card Every staff member in the district

Sources: Diffit pricing page and the individual teacher subscription page.

How much does Diffit cost for one teacher?

One teacher pays $14.99 a month or $149.99 a year. The annual plan saves $29.89, which Diffit rounds to $29 and describes as 16 percent off. Payment works only through the teacher's own Diffit account and only by credit card. Diffit states it plainly: individual licenses cannot be bought by purchase order, and a school cannot buy a batch of individual licenses for several teachers.

What the premium plan adds over Basic is the part teachers notice in week two: export to Google Docs, Slides, Forms, Classroom and Microsoft formats, alignment to standards, skills, curricula and MTSS tiers, the full history of every resource instead of the last 90 days, ready-made graphic organizers such as CER and Cornell Notes, and the advanced customization tools. If you cancel, the subscription runs to the end of the period you paid for, and Diffit's help center notes that a monthly subscriber can cancel over the summer and resubscribe when school starts.

First-year teachers can claim premium access through June 30, 2027 with a form on Diffit's site, so a new hire may not need a paid seat at all this year.

How much does Diffit for Schools cost?

Diffit describes the school product as "a flat-rate annual subscription, tiered based on student enrollment" that covers all staff. The price comes from a calculator that sends your school name and enrollment to Diffit and returns a quote. The tiers are not in the public page, so no one can give you the band your school falls in without asking Diffit. A district quote goes through a separate form.

The school license adds an admin dashboard (each teacher's status, last sign-in and resources generated, exportable as a CSV), management of several schools under one subscription, bulk teacher import, free professional development and dedicated support. Diffit takes purchase orders for school and district licenses at schools@diffit.me, accepts checks by mail and provides a W-9. Teachers sign in with Google, Microsoft or email. Clever and ClassLink rostering is listed as on Diffit's roadmap with no date, so for now a district can add Diffit as an app tile but not roster through it.

A school can run a 45-day trial with full access for every teacher. Diffit's confirmation page says the school is not charged unless it decides to buy, and when the trial ends, teachers drop back to Basic. Some review sites quote a 60-day trial. We did not find that number on any Diffit page.

What schools and districts actually paid for Diffit

Six payments to Diffit with a dollar figure, from documents the districts published themselves. Where the scope is not stated, the table says so rather than guessing.

District Date Amount What it bought
Rockford Public Schools, IL, board item August 2025 $45,000 Diffit access for all teachers in the district, budgeted
Berea City School District, OH, check listing March 2024 $7,083.33 Payment to Diffit Inc., scope not stated
Northbrook School District 28, IL, board packet July 2026 $3,960 Diffit district subscription
Township High School District 214, IL, bills list September 2026 $2,000 Payment to Diffit Inc., scope not stated
Township High School District 214, IL, bills list October 2025 $1,800 Payment to Diffit Inc., scope not stated
Santa Ana Unified, CA, software listing 2023-24 $1,360 School license for 12 months, premium for all staff at one school

Three things stand out. First, a single-school license has cost in the low thousands: $1,360 at a California school in 2023-24, and the District 214 payments of $1,800 and $2,000 look like one building or program, although the documents do not say. Second, a small district subscription can sit under $4,000, as Northbrook's did in July 2026. Third, a large district paying for every teacher lands in five figures, as Rockford's $45,000 shows. District 214's payment rose from $1,800 to $2,000 between 2025 and 2026, which is the only like-for-like renewal in the set, about 11 percent.

When does a Diffit school license beat individual subscriptions?

Diffit says a school license costs "about the same as purchasing for anything more than a handful of teachers." The Santa Ana figure lets you check it. $1,360 divided by $149.99 is about 9, so that school paid roughly what nine annual teacher subscriptions would have cost, and every other teacher in the building came free. Northbrook's $3,960 equals about 26 annual subscriptions for a whole district.

  • Fewer than about five regular users: individual annual plans are usually cheaper, and the teachers can expense them.
  • Between five and ten: ask for the school quote. It will often match the individual total and add the admin dashboard and PD.
  • More than ten: the school license almost always wins, and it is the only way to pay by purchase order.

Before you compare, pull the admin usage export after the 45-day trial. A license priced for the whole staff is only cheap if the whole staff uses it, and the CSV shows exactly who did.

Is Diffit free for teachers?

Diffit has a no-cost Basic plan with limits, and it keeps only resources made in the last 90 days. Diffit does not publish the exact limits. Teachers get premium features during a trial, and first-year teachers get premium through June 30, 2027. For a teacher who uses it weekly, the paid plan at $149.99 a year is what removes the limits and adds Google and Microsoft export.

Does Diffit collect student data?

No. Diffit states that it collects no student data at all, only teacher names, email addresses and IP addresses, and its pricing page says "No student logins, no student AI." Students never sign in; they receive the worksheets a teacher generates. Diffit says it signs the National Data Privacy Agreement and the Student Data Privacy Consortium state agreements, and one signed agreement is public: Iron County School District, Utah, March 2024, with the general offer box checked so other districts can join it. If your district keeps one register of vendor privacy agreements and their expiry dates, compliance management software that tracks each obligation saves the scramble when a three-year agreement lapses.

Questions to ask Diffit before you sign

  1. Which enrollment band are we in, and what are the band edges? A school just above an edge may pay noticeably more.
  2. Is the price locked for a multi-year term, and what was the increase at renewal for schools our size?
  3. Does a district license price each school separately or the district as one enrollment figure?
  4. When will Clever or ClassLink rostering ship, and is it included in our price when it does?
  5. Can we see the admin usage export from our trial before we sign?
  6. Will you sign our state's data privacy agreement as written, or the general offer already on file?

What Diffit does not tell you, and where Coeducate fits

Diffit is very good at one job: taking a grade-level text and producing a version a struggling reader can get through, with questions and organizers attached, in a couple of minutes. It works before class, for the teacher. By design it has no student logins, so it cannot tell you what a student understood once they read the leveled text. That question lands back on the teacher, usually as a stack of written answers to mark on a Sunday.

Coeducate covers the after. A student types an answer to a question on the text the teacher assigned, which can be the Diffit version. The tutor coaches with a hint instead of handing over the answer, and the teacher gets a dated card naming the skill that failed: inference, central idea, text evidence or vocabulary in context, with the student's own sentence quoted. That is the record a reading comprehension intervention program needs for an MTSS meeting, and it is the job our AI reading tutor does in grades 3 to 12.

The two are not substitutes, so most schools would keep Diffit and add a tutor only for the intervention groups. Our School plan is $349 a month, or $3,480 a year billed annually, for up to 10 educators and 600 students, and the price is on the pricing page rather than behind a calculator. If you are pricing a text library at the same time, our Newsela pricing for schools breakdown uses the same method, and the MagicSchool Enterprise pricing article covers the teacher platform most districts compare with Diffit.

When Diffit is the right purchase and we are not

If your teachers' problem is preparation time, Diffit is the right purchase and a tutor will not help. If your district policy rules out any tool that students sign in to, Diffit fits that policy and we do not, because Coeducate works with the student. And if you need every subject from science to social studies, Diffit covers any text you paste, while we cover math and reading only. Buy the tutor when the open question is not "can they read it" but "what did they take from it, and can we prove it."

Where this comes from

Coeducate turns a tutoring session into a per-skill mastery record

Socratic hints instead of answers, evidence the teacher can act on, and student work that is never used to train models. Run the Mastery Check on the homepage and read the output before you decide whether any of this is worth your time.

Try the demo

More from the AI in education blog

All guides on AI in education

See what a session actually produces

Run the Mastery Check on the sample work, or paste your own practice text. Nothing you type is stored.

Student work is never used to train models. No card required to try the demo.

Try the demo

Mastery evidence after every session.